And

2017-07-14 11.20.05

Driving to Bangor Airport at dawn,  I call out farewells and thanks to the Benjamin Point doe and fawn, the ever-changing waters of the Eggemoggin Reach, Bridges Point beach covered in worn-smooth granite, Brooklin General Store with its daily provisions of pastries and wine, the post office white trumpet flower, set in a big pot right next to the drive-up mailbox, and last, but not least, the clapboard cottage down Steamboat Road, where Susan, Ric and William are sleeping.

Sadness of leave-takings AND gratitude for time well-spent.  Quality of life is enhanced when AND takes precedence over BUT.  AND gives us so much more of the big wide world in all its contradictions, variety, and wonder.  BUT takes us to the narrow confines of either/or, black/white, yes/no, good/bad.

Practice of the Alexander Technique is the practice of AND.   I am in this body AND in my office, the city,  and all of life beyond. I am walking AND considering my use; head on spine, long and light.  I tend to the sight-reading of the piano piece, AND I enjoy the stability of sit bones on bench.

Good bye, Maine.  AND, hello to home and husband——-

 

 

One thought on “And

  1. Feedspot Blogs (@feedspotblogs) August 16, 2017 / 4:28 am

    Hi Poise and Presence Team,

    My name is Anuj Agarwal. I’m Founder of Feedspot.

    I would like to personally congratulate you as your blog Poise and Presence has been selected by our panelist as one of the Top 50 Alexander Technique Blogs on the web.

    http://blog.feedspot.com/alexander_technique_blogs/

    I personally give you a high-five and want to thank you for your contribution to this world. This is the most comprehensive list of Top 50 Alexander Technique Blogs on the internet and I’m honored to have you as part of this!

    Also, you have the honor of displaying the badge on your blog.

    Best,
    Anuj

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

