What If?

 

vintage-1135015_640
pixabay graphic

Glory be. It’s a fine morning on the hill.  Bird chorus was a cacophony, and early. Sighted a Baltimore Oriole!  A flash of brilliant orange and there he was, singing in a meadow bush. On lifting from his perch, he flew straight toward me, veering off to land in the nearest oak.  Oh, my.

To enhance your birding experience, add some Alexander Technique thinking.  Begin by simply noting and observing your usual patterns of use.  Mine:  1.  In the excitement of a closer view, I plop the binocs right up against my face, blurring my vision.  2. In a mis-directed attempt to obtain the best look, I scrunch down into the binocs, often not noticing this until my neck begins to hurt.  3. Arms get pulled tightly in toward torso in an effort to keep the binocs steady.

Next, having observed Habits (patterns of Use), ask yourself the question,  ‘What if?’  ‘What if I didn’t ram the binocs against my face?’  The body’s inherent wisdom asserts itself when we get out of its way. We get to find out what the body would like to do instead.  Instead of plopping, ramming, scrunching, pulling, there is now the option of lightness, lengthening, widening; all choices that make for more comfortable birding in a happier body.

2 thoughts on “What If?

  1. Stephanie May 26, 2017 / 3:07 am

    I think the birds have been singing more than usual this spring/summer. Maybe they’re trying to drown out the political world….

    Liked by 1 person

    • alexandertechnique2016 May 26, 2017 / 2:03 pm

      Yes! I’ve noticed the same thing. There’s a wood thrush singing right now outside my office window, and I can’t remember hearing him in springs past—-God knows we need all the beauty we can find these days….

      Like

Leave a Reply

