Idleness

sloth-153779_640
graphics courtesy of pixabay

1.the state of being inactive.Syn.  Dawdling, pottering, shilly-shallying

2.disinclination to activity. —Syn.  slowness, indolence, slothfulness

Webster’s New World Thesaurus was fairly upbeat with its ‘idleness’ entry until ‘indolence’ and ‘slothfulness’ made an appearance. Here we enter into the realm of judgment and the expectation that incessant activity and productiveness is a preferred mode of being.

Easter Sunday was a rare day of, yes, I’ll claim it, indolence.  The positive spin would be ‘rest.’  The massive and very dead ash tree along the Rt. 296 lane had finally been removed and Mike was tired.  Our social life found us happily out late the night before, celebrating the season with long-time friends.  The plan had been to hop in the car the next day and get ourselves to the hill, but after sitting on the back porch in perfect bliss with our morning coffees, we concluded a trip to the farm was altogether too much doing.

Or as my godson Lyle used to ask, when I picked him up from preschool and proceeded to run errands, ‘Diana, could we please stop going?’  Yes, Lyle, we could.  What a fine question.  We do not have to keep going.  Stopping is a very good idea.  Essential, really.

We live in a world with very few pauses, and I write this week to encourage the finding of spaces, moments, hours, even a day, to quit with going and doing.  This Easter Monday finds me refreshed* following a rare day of do-less-ness.  Wishing for you the same—-

*Thanks to Beth C. for her delightful uses of the word ‘refreshed.’  

 

 

9 thoughts on “Idleness

  1. caribrackett April 20, 2017 / 5:43 pm

    Thank you for this, Diana. I’m so glad that you and Mike had some lovely sitting-still time together! What joy!

    Like

  2. Steph April 20, 2017 / 6:20 pm

    I need this – just 2 more weeks of school! 🙂

    Like

  3. cherylcapaldotraylor April 20, 2017 / 7:47 pm

    Those idle days are wonderful. I also love puttering days where I get nothing accomplished but putter around my garden and house, looking, touching, experiencing, taking it all in just for the sheer enjoyment of it.

    Like

  4. Jamie Massa April 20, 2017 / 8:29 pm

    I loved this article! I find myself more slowing down and creating pockets of less movement. I don’t know if it’s because I’m in the last third of life or I’ve finally wised up! Thanks for getting us to consider these wise ideas, Diana.
    Jamie Massa

    Like

Leave a Reply

