Moss on the North Side

‘A home with moss growing is a happy home.’  —Marth’s mother.

granite-1217185_640
photo courtesy of pixabay

Moss grows on the north side of our city home and also the cabin on the hill.  Green loveliness even in winter months, if it stays mild as it has this season.  Other markers of a happy home?  A well-swept front porch. Rooms that receive natural light. The scent of cinnamon. A tea kettle in frequent use.

And the happy domicile equivalent of the body?  You’d be surprised.  Quiet is a good indicator.  I’m referring to the sounds of walking, climbing and descending stairs, in-and-out-of-chairs.

As an Alexander Technique teacher, I’ve been astonished at how much I rely on my ears to assess a student’s use.  Certainly the auditory sense was front-and-center as a voice teacher, but I had no idea the ears would be so important to my AT teaching as well.

Sweep the porch of your Body/Mind.  Receive light and love with the open window of your heart. Surround yourself with a pleasing scent. Sip tea. No need to seek quiet as a goal. That would be what FM called ‘end-gaining.’ AT teacher, Pedro de Alcantara, has this to say about end-gaining: ‘to go directly for an end (a goal) causes a misuse of the self which makes the end (goal) unattainable.’ (quote from Indirect Procedures: A Musician’s Guide to the Alexander Technique)

Peace and quiet with soft moss underfoot is my wish for you this fine day, both in your body-home, which the Elizabethans called the ‘bone house,’  and in your shelter-home.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Moss on the North Side

  1. alcaldeellen@gmailcom March 8, 2017 / 11:41 pm

    Ah, not much moss in the Southwest, and the porch (or portal as they like to call them here) is frequently covered with tumbleweeds, much as I try to keep it swept! Lots of light and a well-used teapot will have to do!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cherylcapaldotraylor March 16, 2017 / 1:38 pm

    I love the quote about end-gaining. I have never heard that term, but it makes so much sense! I’m also a lover of moss and all things mossy. I live under a cover of mature oak, pine, and maple trees, making grass-growing a futile process that my neighbors keep attempting. Not me, I love the layer of mossy green that I call a yard.

    Like

Leave a Reply

