Night Sky, Part II

outhouse-door-1544645_640
thanks, pixabay

Nocturnal visits to the back porch composting toilet often turn into sky watching events, with stars, planets, constellations and occasional flaming meteors streaking above.  It is also extraordinary to be up and about when a crescent moon is setting to the west.  Its proximity to the horizon enlarges its size as its white brilliance slides under the horizon in utter silence.

As one who appreciates these night-time interludes, I was pleased to find myself in good company on the reading of a Junichiro Tanizaki essay, ‘In Praise of Shadows.’ He devotes two pages to the glories of the Japanese toilet.  A quote: ...‘the toilet is the perfect place to listen to the chirping of insects or the song of the birds, to view the moon, or to enjoy any of those poignant moments that mark the change of the seasons.  Here, I suspect, is where haiku poets over the ages have come by a great many of their ideas.’*

Mr. Alexander applied the principles of good use to the requirements of daily life:  sitting, standing, moving from seated to standing and vice versa, traveling stairs, walking, resting.  And to them we can add the middle-of-the-night constitutional.

Notice the beauty wherever you find yourself today. Be present to your Self and your Use. Yes indeed, even in the water closet.

*Tanizaki’s essay can be found in The Art of the Personal Essay: An Anthology from the Classical Era to the Present, editor/Phillip Lopate.

5 thoughts on “Night Sky, Part II

  1. cherylcapaldotraylor March 16, 2017 / 1:46 pm

    Wonderful blog post! I will check out the entire Tanizaki essay today. I’ve just taken the opportunity to catch up on your posts that I have missed and enjoyed them all immensely! I need to sign up to get an email when you have a new post, but can’t seem to find that form on your site. Can you point me to it so I don’t miss a post? I’m not on here every day so I must miss them in the Reader. Thanks!

    Like

    • alexandertechnique2016 March 17, 2017 / 12:51 am

      I attempted to send you an invite for becoming an email follower, and wordpress would not send it, with the explanation, ‘already following.’ Loved your heron post. Saw two flying overhead this very eve, the setting sun glinting off their wings. Many thanks for your thoughtful responses.

      Liked by 1 person

      • cherylcapaldotraylor March 17, 2017 / 1:01 am

        Well, it’s true I am following. I just don’t get email updates. I guess I need to look at the Reader more often or make frequent trips to your site! 😃 Thank you for reading and responding to my blog posts as well. The heron “event” was quite a sight to witness. They are fascinating birds.

        Liked by 1 person

      • alexandertechnique2016 March 17, 2017 / 4:17 pm

        I’ll send a message to wordpress as the site ought to be sending you email notifications! Delighted you are a reader—-

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

